Skip to main content
GeoReady · Compare

Otterly Alternative: What You Get Before and After the Price Jump

Published September 16, 2026 · Last updated October 23, 2026 · by Juan Camilo Auriti · 9 min read

Otterly (otterly.ai) is a capable, purpose-built AI-search-visibility platform: daily automated citation tracking, sentiment classification, a public API and MCP server, Looker Studio reporting. It's also priced in a way that rewards commitment: $29/mo to start, then a jump to $189/mo for a workable prompt volume, with no permanent free plan. This page compares Otterly and GeoReady on facts published by each vendor as of October 2026, states plainly where Otterly is the stronger tool, and doesn't score either one on anything that isn't sourced. If you're weighing open-source engines against proprietary SaaS across the whole category, that's a different question, answered on the open-source Profound and Otterly alternative page.

What Otterly does today

Otterly's core product is AI Search Analytics: tracking brand and website visibility and mentions across AI engines with competitive positioning (otterly.ai, as of October 2026). Around that core sit several distinct features: Citation & Brand Tracking checks "every domain and URL cited in AI answers... daily, with link-position changes over time"; a Content Audit scores crawlability and AI-readiness with optimization guidance; Brand Sentiment Analysis classifies AI mentions as enthusiastic, caveated, or dismissive; Competitive Benchmarking compares your brand's mentions against named competitors automatically; a Query Fan-Out tool surfaces the related and comparative questions AI models generate around a topic; and Agent Analytics separately tracks AI-crawler traffic to your own domain (otterly.ai/features, as of October 2026; docs.otterly.ai/introduction, accessed 2026-09-01). Otterly also monitors ChatGPT Ads & Shopping placements and Google AI Overviews ad placements (otterly.ai/features, as of October 2026). Citation tracking runs across 65+ countries and languages (otterly.ai/features, as of October 2026), a breadth suited to multi-market brands rather than a single-region product. For teams building their own reporting, there's a public REST API, an MCP server, and, from Standard up, a Looker Studio connector (otterly.ai/pricing and docs.otterly.ai/introduction, accessed 2026-09-01).

Otterly's own positioning points toward a specific buyer: marketing teams and agencies, content strategists, SEO professionals, SaaS companies, and enterprise brands (otterly.ai/, accessed 2026-09-01). Unlimited team members on every tier and Enterprise-tier SSO signal a multi-client, mid-market-to-enterprise orientation more than a solo-operator one (otterly.ai/, accessed 2026-09-01). That matters before comparing sticker prices, because the two products aren't necessarily bought by the same kind of team.

Where the price jumps

Otterly's published pricing (otterly.ai/pricing, as of October 2026):

  • Lite ($29/mo): 15 search prompts, 1,000 GEO URL audits/mo, no API/MCP allotment.
  • Standard ($189/mo, "Most Popular"): 100 prompts, 5,000 audits/mo, 2,000 API and 2,000 MCP requests/mo, Looker Studio connector.
  • Premium ($489/mo): 400 prompts, 10,000 audits/mo, 5,000/5,000 API/MCP requests.
  • Enterprise (custom): starting from 1,000 search prompts, with customizable prompt tracking, SSO and a dedicated customer success manager.

There are two separate quotas: "search prompts" are the AI-engine queries Otterly runs on your behalf, while "GEO URL audits" are separate on-page crawlability and AI-readiness checks bundled into the same plan (otterly.ai/pricing, as of October 2026). Check both before assuming a plan's headline prompt count is the whole allowance. Every tier includes unlimited team seats. Extra prompts cost $99/month per +100 on Standard and Premium; the add-on is not available on Lite (otterly.ai/pricing, as of October 2026). There's no permanent free plan, only a free trial (7 days and no credit card required as of 2026-09-01; length not stated on the pricing page as of October 2026), and the exact trial feature scope is not published on the fetched pages. Annual billing takes roughly 14-15% off the monthly rate at every tier.

The gap that matters most for evaluation is the one between the entry price and the price that gets you a workable prompt volume: Lite's $29/mo buys 15 prompts; Standard's $189/mo buys 100. That single step, from $29 to $189, is the largest jump in either vendor's pricing ladder. Budget for it before you commit to Lite expecting to stay there.

The engines-included-vs-advertised nuance

Otterly's homepage markets coverage across "ChatGPT, Perplexity, AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini, and Copilot" plus Claude, which makes seven named engines (otterly.ai/ and otterly.ai/features, as of October 2026). What's included by default in every paid tier's price is narrower: ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, and Microsoft Copilot, four engines in all (otterly.ai/pricing, as of October 2026). Claude, Google AI Mode, and Gemini are separate paid add-ons layered on top of any base plan, priced from $9 to $439/month depending on engine and plan tier (otterly.ai/pricing, as of October 2026). Both figures sit on Otterly's own pricing page, so nothing is hidden. Still, the $29/mo sticker price covers 4 of the 7 engines the homepage advertises. Budget for add-ons if Claude or Gemini visibility matters to your evaluation.

GeoReady has its own version of this caveat. The Free audit's nine-category score is a readiness score and does not track AI-engine citations. GeoReady's automated answer checks are scoped to Perplexity (1 a week on a free account); on Agency, ChatGPT and Google answers are added to AI answer snapshots by manual paste rather than collected automatically (geoready.dev/pricing, October 2026). GeoReady doesn't market broader automated engine coverage than that.

Where GeoReady starts cheaper

A full GEO audit (no account, no card, 5 runs a day) costs $0 forever on GeoReady; Otterly has no equivalent permanent free tier, only a free trial. Moving to a paid plan, GeoReady Pro is $19/mo (founding price, then $29/mo); Otterly Lite is $29/mo (otterly.ai/pricing, as of October 2026). These aren't the same product at that price point: Pro is domain monitoring with score history and regression alerts, not prompt-based citation tracking. For a buyer deciding whether to spend anything at all before understanding the category, GeoReady's free and $19 entry points carry materially less commitment than Otterly's trial-then-$29 path.

Where Otterly is genuinely stronger, and who should keep it

If what you need is continuous, automated, daily citation and brand-mention tracking at scale, across a real prompt volume, with sentiment classification, a REST API, an MCP server, and a Looker Studio pipeline into your own reporting, Otterly's core product is more mature at that specific job than anything GeoReady offers today. GeoReady's citation checking is a spot-check tool and a Perplexity-scoped automated tier, not a continuous, multi-engine share-of-voice tracker. Enterprise brands, agencies managing several clients' AI visibility, and teams that already have a reporting pipeline to plug an API into should weigh Otterly seriously on that basis. The 65+ country and language breadth matters here too: a multi-market enterprise brand evaluating global share-of-voice tracking is evaluating a scale GeoReady's Perplexity-scoped automated tier doesn't claim to match.

Otterly vs GeoReady, tier by tier

Otterly figures: otterly.ai/pricing, accessed 2026-09-01, re-checked 2026-10-21 and 2026-10-23 (plans, prompt limits and request allotments unchanged). Otterly localises prices by country: on 2026-10-21 a browser in Europe was shown €29, €189 and €489, while the page as served on 2026-10-23 lists $29, $189 and $489 and states add-on prices in US dollars, excluding tax. GeoReady figures: geoready.dev/pricing, October 2026. Figures are stated as published by each vendor; no scores or ratings are assigned to either.

Otterly tier Price What it includes GeoReady tier Price What it includes
Free trial Free (length not stated on the pricing page) 4 base engines implied; exact trial scope not published Free $0 forever 5 audits/day, full nine-category report, no account, no card, no expiry; a 14-day Agency trial is available on request
Lite $29/mo 15 prompts, 1,000 audits/mo, 4 engines (ChatGPT, AI Overviews, Perplexity, Copilot) Pro $19/mo founding price, then $29/mo 10 domains weekly monitoring, 30-audit history, regression alerts, PDF export, API access
Standard $189/mo 100 prompts, 5,000 audits/mo, Looker Studio, 2,000/2,000 API/MCP requests No equivalent tier — GeoReady goes from Pro to Agency; there is no mid tier
Premium $489/mo 400 prompts, 10,000 audits/mo, 5,000/5,000 API/MCP requests Agency $89/mo founding price, then $199/mo 50 domains daily, 24-month history, team workspace, AI answer snapshots (Perplexity automated; ChatGPT/Google manual paste)
Enterprise Custom Starting from 1,000 search prompts, SSO, dedicated customer success manager Enterprise Talk to us Unlimited domains, SLA, on-premise, hourly monitoring*

Hourly cadence is stated on GeoReady's Enterprise card in pricing.md; its tier attribution is under internal review.

Add-on engines (Claude, Google AI Mode, Gemini) are not included in any Otterly row above. They're priced separately on top, per the engines-nuance section.

Frequently asked questions

Does GeoReady track all the same AI engines as Otterly?

Not the same way. Otterly's base plans track ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, Perplexity, and Microsoft Copilot automatically and daily, with Claude, Gemini, and AI Mode available as paid add-ons (otterly.ai/pricing, as of October 2026). GeoReady's automated answer checks cover Perplexity only (1 a week on a free account); Agency adds AI answer snapshots, where ChatGPT and Google answers are added by manual paste. Automated coverage is narrower today.

Why does Otterly's price jump from $29 to $189?

Lite ($29/mo) includes 15 prompts and 1,000 audits/mo; Standard ($189/mo) includes 100 prompts, 5,000 audits/mo, and adds the Looker Studio connector plus an API/MCP request allotment (otterly.ai/pricing, as of October 2026). The step adds features as well as price, and it is still the largest single gap in either vendor's pricing ladder, so budget for it instead of assuming Lite scales gradually into Standard.

Is Otterly's free trial actually free?

Yes. Otterly offers a free trial (otterly.ai/pricing, re-checked 2026-10-23); the page does not state its length, and the 2026-09-01 check read 7 days with no credit card required. The exact feature scope during the trial (which engines, how many prompts) isn't published on the fetched pages, so treat it as narrower than the paid tiers until you've confirmed otherwise.

Is GeoReady open source, like the combined alternative page discusses?

Yes: the CLI (geo-optimizer-skill) is MIT-licensed and self-hostable; Otterly's detection and scoring logic is proprietary and undisclosed on the pages checked. For the fuller open-source-vs-proprietary case across this whole category (not just Otterly), see the open-source Profound and Otterly alternative page. This page stays focused on Otterly: its pricing, its engine coverage, and its trial terms.

Does Otterly support agencies with multiple workspaces or SSO?

Otterly includes unlimited team members on every tier, and its pricing structure (workspaces, Enterprise-tier SSO) signals an agency and mid-market-to-enterprise orientation (otterly.ai/pricing, as of October 2026). GeoReady's team workspace (owner/editor/viewer roles) starts at Agency ($89/mo founding price, then $199/mo); no SSO is listed on GeoReady's pricing page.

Is there a cheaper way to just check whether I'm cited, without a monthly subscription?

On the GeoReady side, yes: the AI citation checker runs a free, no-account spot-check against Perplexity. Otterly doesn't publish a free, no-subscription single-check option; its only no-cost path is the free trial.

Should an agency managing several clients choose Otterly instead of GeoReady?

For agencies whose main job is continuous, automated, multi-client citation tracking with API and Looker Studio reporting, yes. That is Otterly's strongest use case, and GeoReady doesn't match its tracking depth today. For agencies whose main job is auditing AI-readiness across many client sites and monitoring GEO-score regressions, GeoReady's Agency plan ($89/mo founding price, then $199/mo; 50 domains, team workspace) is the cheaper, narrower-scope fit. For the full category breakdown, see how GEO tools compare.

Start with a free audit

No account, no card, no trial clock. Run the free GEO audit on any URL first, then check full plan pricing once you know whether you need audit-and-monitor or continuous multi-engine tracking. If citation tracking specifically is what you're evaluating, GeoReady's own AI citation checker is a free, no-account way to see a first result before comparing further.

Next step

Check your own site before you choose.

The free audit is the open-source engine run on your URL: a score out of 100 across nine categories, with fixes in priority order. It costs $0 with no account; monitoring on Pro is $19/mo founding, then $29.