Skip to main content
GeoReady · Compare

Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit Alternative: What It Is, What It Costs, and When to Use Something Else

GeoReady Compare

If you're reading this, you're probably in one of two situations: you're evaluating Semrush's "AI Visibility Toolkit" itself and want to know what it actually is and costs before you buy, or you already know Semrush and are looking for something smaller and cheaper that does the AI-visibility piece on its own. This page answers both, in order, starting with what Semrush's toolkit is, since that is less obvious than the name suggests.

Every Semrush fact below is sourced from semrush.com directly, accessed 2026-09-01, and date-stamped where prices or limits could change. Plan names, AI-visibility limits and the Advanced tier were re-checked on semrush.com/pricing on 2026-10-21 and 2026-10-23. Semrush localises prices by country: from Europe the page shows euros (SEO €112.52, Starter €158.40 and Pro+ €238 per month billed annually; €134, €190 and €286 billed monthly, as of October 2026). The dollar figures on this page are from 2026-09-01 and could not be re-checked from Europe. GeoReady facts are from geoready.dev/pricing, October 2026.

Published September 16, 2026 · Last updated October 23, 2026

What is Semrush's "AI Visibility Toolkit," exactly?

This is the first thing worth clearing up, because Semrush itself doesn't use one consistent name for it. As of September 2026, we found three different labels on Semrush's own site for what appears to be the same underlying capability:

  • "AI Visibility Toolkit": used in a free-trial page snippet: "Try our SEO audit, keyword research, AI Visibility Toolkit, and more" (source: semrush.com/semrush-free-trial, accessed 2026-09-01).
  • "AI visibility": the name used on the dedicated feature page, described as letting you "see how often your brand and content appear in answers from ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, and AI Overviews" (source: semrush.com/features/ai-visibility/, accessed 2026-09-01).
  • Folded into "Semrush One", marketed as "Win Every Search, From SEO to AI Discovery," a "one connected solution for Google and AI search" (source: semrush.com/one, accessed 2026-09-01).

The toolkit is not a separately purchased product with its own SKU. It's a feature set bundled into Semrush's main SEO plans and folded into the broader "Semrush One" branding. The AI-visibility limits scale with the same plan tiers (SEO/Starter/Pro+/Advanced) used for the rest of the suite, with no standalone add-on price. We did not find a page selling it in isolation in this session, and that remains not verifiable beyond what was checked. If a standalone SKU exists elsewhere on Semrush's site, treat this section as current-best-evidence rather than exhaustive.

What it does

Based on semrush.com/features/ai-visibility/ and semrush.com/one (both accessed 2026-09-01), the capability set includes:

  • Measuring how often a brand appears in AI-generated answers across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, and Google AI Overviews.
  • Tracking share of voice in LLM responses over time, and benchmarking competitor visibility in AI answers.
  • Monitoring brand sentiment and positioning in AI outputs.
  • Identifying which prompts or topics trigger brand mentions ("Monitor custom prompts").
  • An "AI-ready Site Audit", a technical audit for AI-bot accessibility, named specifically on the Starter plan row of the pricing page.
  • Generating automated AI-visibility reports for any domain.

Semrush One's own framing adds a claimed dataset of "239M+ relevant LLM prompts globally, including the largest US and ChatGPT databases" (source: semrush.com/one, accessed 2026-09-01). That's a real, self-reported scale claim, and it's larger than what a small dedicated tool can claim.

What it costs (dollar prices as of September 2026)

All figures below are volatile and were verified on semrush.com/pricing/ on 2026-09-01. The page's figures appear to be USD based on the "$" symbol shown, though the page itself did not display an explicit currency code in the text extracted, so treat currency as not independently confirmed beyond that. The AI-visibility limits in the last column were re-checked on 2026-10-23.

Plan Monthly, billed annually Monthly, billed month-to-month AI-visibility limits named on this row
Free $0/mo $0/mo "AI Visibility features" included; exact prompt/domain scope not disclosed on the page
SEO $117.33/mo $139/mo None: the SEO plan card marks the AI-visibility rows (track performance in AI search, monitor AI sentiment, AI visibility reports, custom prompts) as not included (checked 2026-10-23)
Starter $165.17/mo $199/mo AI-ready Site Audit; 50 tracked prompts/day; 1 domain for AI brand performance; 300 AI-visibility reports/day (checked 2026-10-23)
Pro+ $248.17/mo $299/mo 100 tracked prompts/day (report-cap and domain-count not separately disclosed; checked 2026-10-23)
Advanced Custom (request a demo) Custom All Pro+ features plus 40+ websites, 5,000+ keywords, API data integration and team users; unlimited prompts to track daily (checked 2026-10-23)

On top of any plan: "Additional Users Starting at $45/mo", a per-seat add-on for teammates (source: semrush.com/pricing/, accessed 2026-09-01). Semrush also offers a 7-day free trial with "unlimited access to all Semrush One tools" (source: semrush.com/semrush-free-trial, semrush.com/one, accessed 2026-09-01). It is a time-boxed trial, not a permanent free allowance for AI visibility specifically. The Free plan itself is capped at "10 reports per day across all vital tools," a shared cap across Semrush's entire toolset, not an AI-visibility-specific allowance.

Monitoring cadence: what Semrush's own pages say (not reconciled)

Semrush's own pages are not fully consistent about how often AI-visibility data refreshes, and rather than guess which statement governs which sub-feature, here's exactly what each page says:

  • semrush.com/features/ai-visibility/ (accessed 2026-09-01) states "Daily, weekly, and monthly data refreshes," with "daily AI visibility updates" attributed specifically to the Prompt Tracking feature.
  • semrush.com/one (accessed 2026-09-01) states "Weekly data updates" for performance tracking, without the same daily/weekly/monthly breakdown.

Both statements are reproduced above verbatim rather than resolved into one answer. If cadence matters to your evaluation, confirm directly with Semrush sales or support before buying.

Where Semrush genuinely wins

Semrush has advantages here that a small, dedicated tool does not have.

  1. Bundling with an already-adopted SEO suite. If your team already pays for Semrush for keyword research, backlinks, and rank tracking, AI visibility arrives inside the same login, same billing, same reporting, with no new vendor relationship (source: semrush.com/one, semrush.com/pricing/, accessed 2026-09-01).
  2. A large claimed prompt dataset. "239M+ relevant LLM prompts globally" is a scale of underlying data a small point-tool cannot self-fund (source: semrush.com/one, accessed 2026-09-01).
  3. Established brand trust. Semrush is a long-established, publicly known SEO vendor, which lowers procurement friction for larger organizations.
  4. Multi-engine coverage without a "ChatGPT-only" style gate. ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, and Claude are all named on the features page without a Profound-style single-engine entry tier (source: semrush.com/features/ai-visibility/, accessed 2026-09-01).

The case for a dedicated tool instead

Someone searching "Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit alternative" is very often someone who does not want or need the rest of the Semrush suite (keyword research, backlink audits, rank tracking) and is being asked to buy a $165-248/mo plan (Starter or Pro+, billed annually, as of 2026-09-01; higher month-to-month; Advanced is custom-priced) to get an AI-visibility module that is a small line item inside a much larger platform.

Three verifiable differentiators for GeoReady:

  1. Purpose-built. GeoReady is a dedicated GEO/AI-visibility tool from the first screen. Semrush's AI-visibility features are one module inside a suite whose plan names and prices (SEO/Starter/Pro+/Advanced) are built around the whole platform, not around AI visibility alone.
  2. Lower cost of entry for AI visibility specifically. GeoReady Pro is $19/mo (founding price, then $29/mo). Semrush's cheapest tier that includes AI-visibility features (the "AI-ready Site Audit" plus 50 tracked prompts/day, on Starter; the SEO plan card marks them as not included) is $165.17/mo billed annually as of 2026-09-01, and that price also buys the entire rest of the SEO suite whether you want it or not.
  3. No per-seat add-on tax. Semrush charges "Additional Users Starting at $45/mo" on top of the base plan. GeoReady's tier prices (Pro $19/mo and Agency $89/mo at the founding price; $29/mo and $199/mo later) are the whole price; Agency's team workspace is included at that price with no additional per-seat line on GeoReady's pricing page.

Semrush vs. GeoReady, by price band

A different lens than a feature-by-feature table: what does each price band actually buy you for the AI-visibility use case specifically? Semrush figures: semrush.com/pricing/, dollar prices accessed 2026-09-01, plan limits re-checked 2026-10-23. GeoReady figures: geoready.dev/pricing, October 2026.

Price band Semrush: what's bundled at this band GeoReady: what's included at this band
$0/mo Free plan includes some "AI Visibility features" (scope undisclosed); capped at 10 reports/day across the entire suite Free: full nine-category GEO audit, 5 audits/day, no account, no card, forever
$19/mo (GeoReady Pro, founding price; $29/mo later) No Semrush tier at this price. The SEO tier ($117.33/mo annual as of 2026-09-01) is the next rung up, and its plan card marks the AI-visibility features as not included (checked 2026-10-23) Pro ($19/mo founding price, then $29/mo): 10 domains weekly monitoring, regression alerts, PDF export, API access
$165-248/mo (Semrush Starter/Pro+, annual) AI-ready Site Audit, 50-100 tracked prompts/day, 300 AI-visibility reports/day, plus the full SEO suite (keyword research, backlinks, rank tracking) at the same price Agency ($89/mo founding price, then $199/mo): 50 domains daily monitoring, team workspace, unlimited batch audits, AI answer snapshots. No unrelated suite tools bundled in
Custom (Semrush Advanced, through a demo) Full suite with team users and API data integration; no public price, unlimited AI prompts to track daily (checked 2026-10-23); "Additional Users" add-on from $45/mo per seat as of 2026-09-01 (shown as €43/mo from Europe on 2026-10-23) GeoReady has no tier in this band. Agency ($89/mo founding price, then $199/mo) is the self-serve ceiling; Enterprise is custom, "talk to us"

Who should stay on Semrush

If you're already paying for Semrush's full suite and the AI-visibility module is a convenience layered on top of tools you use anyway, switching just for AI visibility doesn't make sense, since you'd be paying twice. Stay on Semrush if the 239M+ prompt dataset scale, the suite-wide login/billing, or Semrush's general market trust are the actual deciding factors for your team. Those are real, and GeoReady doesn't claim to match Semrush's data scale or suite breadth.

Getting started with a dedicated tool

  1. Run the free audit first. No account, no card: a full GEO score and nine-category breakdown for any URL, to see what a dedicated audit surfaces that a bundled module might not.
  2. Check the methodology before paying anything. GeoReady's scoring weights are public and auditable (see how GEO scores are calculated).
  3. Add answer snapshots only when you need them. Agency ($89/mo founding price, then $199/mo) adds AI answer snapshots (Perplexity automated; ChatGPT and Google by manual paste), citation quality scoring and competitor comparison. It is a bigger step than Pro, so check it against what you need first; engine coverage is narrower than Semrush's today.
  4. Run a citation check on your own brand with the AI citation checker before committing to a monitoring plan, to see whether ongoing tracking is even worth it for your current visibility.
  5. See the wider field. For a category-wide comparison beyond Semrush specifically, see how GEO tools compare.

Frequently asked questions

Is "AI Visibility Toolkit" the same thing as "Semrush One"?

Not exactly. "AI Visibility Toolkit" and "AI visibility" are the names used for the underlying feature set on different Semrush pages; "Semrush One" is the broader brand for Semrush's combined SEO-plus-AI-search positioning. The AI-visibility capability appears to live inside both framings rather than as its own separately-branded product.

How much does Semrush's AI-visibility feature cost on its own?

There is no standalone AI-visibility-only price that we could find on semrush.com as checked. It scales with the same suite plans: SEO ($117.33/mo annual, whose plan card marks the AI-visibility features as not included), Starter ($165.17/mo annual, the first tier that includes them), Pro+ ($248.17/mo annual), and Advanced (custom pricing through a demo, unlimited tracked prompts as of October 2026). Dollar prices are as of 2026-09-01; Semrush localises prices by country. The AI-visibility feature therefore always comes bundled with the rest of the SEO suite at whatever tier you're on.

Does Semrush's AI-visibility data update daily or weekly?

Semrush's own pages say both, for different framings: the features page names daily updates for Prompt Tracking specifically within a broader "daily, weekly, and monthly" cadence description; the Semrush One page states "weekly data updates" generally. We present both and don't pick one, so verify directly with Semrush if the exact cadence matters to your decision.

Can I get AI-visibility tracking without buying the rest of the Semrush suite?

Not from Semrush, based on what's published. The AI-visibility features are bundled into suite-wide plans and not sold as an isolated SKU. A dedicated tool like GeoReady is built for that gap: pay for AI visibility specifically, starting at $0 and reaching $89/mo (founding price, then $199/mo) for Agency's AI answer snapshots, without paying for keyword research or backlink tooling you may not need.

Which covers more AI engines, Semrush or GeoReady?

At the feature-description level, Semrush names more engines by default: ChatGPT, Perplexity, Gemini, Claude, and AI Overviews are all listed on its features page without a single-engine entry gate. GeoReady's automated answer checks cover Perplexity only (1 a week on a free account), and on Agency ChatGPT and Google answers are added by manual paste. If broad automated engine coverage out of the box is the deciding factor, Semrush's toolkit covers more today.

Start with the free audit

No account, no card, no suite required. See your GEO score, then decide if dedicated AI-visibility monitoring is worth $19-89/month on top (founding prices; $29-199/month later).

About the author

Juan Camilo Auriti

Founder of GeoReady and author of GEO Optimizer, the MIT-licensed engine whose scoring weights and 47 citability methods are published in the public repository. The GeoReady figures on this page come from geoready.dev/pricing, the product's own live pricing page.

Reviewed and updated October 23, 2026 · Methodology

Next step

Check your own site before you choose.

The free audit is the open-source engine run on your URL: a score out of 100 across nine categories, with fixes in priority order. It costs $0 with no account; monitoring on Pro is $19/mo founding, then $29.